27
Oct
11

Grab it, and don’t be afraid! خُذْهَا وَلَا تَخَفْ

Today we were talking about Musa (AS) and his story in the first passage of Surah TaHa.

**Here’s an AMAZING recitation of this passage in the “Khalaf” recitation, as recited by Shaykh Uthman Khan from Canada.  The same shaykh who comes down to Ilm Summits, alhamdulillah!

When Allah commands Musa (AS) to throw his staff down on the Mountain in the valley of Tuwa, the staff turns into a massive snake that’s slithering about. God then commands Prophet Moses (AS) to “Grab it, and don’t be afraid” because the snake will turn back into a staff when he grabs it.

خُذْهَا وَلَا تَخَفْ

Through this command, Allah was training Prophet Musa (AS) to FIRST: OBEY GOD NO MATTER WHAT, and SECOND: TO TRUST GOD NO MATTER WHAT. The Prophet Moses was faced with many trials in his life where he had to “just do it” and put his trust in God.

One such trial was when he had to literally MAN UP and confront the Pharoah/Firaoun. When he went to address the Pharoah, he had to put aside his worries (ref verses 2:24-33) and JUST DO IT, WITH FAITH in Allah that Allah would back him up.

The whole time I was sitting there, I was overwhelmed with the memory of the exhilarating feeling I felt with my first true encounter with the Prophet Moses from the Qur’an, the UCI Fee Hike/Budge Cut protest my freshman year at UCI. Yes, you read the correctly!  One of the brothers from our MSU spoke out and gave his whole speech off of the dua the Musa (AS) makes before he goes to confront the Pharoah.

  .قَالَ رَبِّ اشْرَحْ لِي صَدْرِي/ وَيَسِّرْ لِي أَمْرِي وَاحْلُلْ عُقْدَةً مِّن لِّسَانِي يَفْقَهُوا قَوْلِي

[Moses] said, “My Lord, expand for me my breast [with assurance], And ease for me my task, And untie the knot from my tongue, That they may understand my speech.”  [20:25-28]

Here is the video of the speech at the protest.

That speech started with the supplication that nearly every speaker makes before making their speech, but in this instance, his whole speech was based completely on the dua itself.  That was an instance when I was truly LIVING the story of Prophet Moses (AS), and today I felt the story of Musa (AS) jump off of the pages of the Qur’an as Ustadh Nouman took a long-winded, and much-need as always :), tafsir tangent.

May Allah put barakah in MSU UCI and our teachers, and may He make us of the people of the Qur’an. Ameen.

There is more to come from the tafseer we did today iA!  I should be studying, but I just could not keep this to myself.

I pray that I can follow the Sunnah of Prophet Musa (AS) and GRAB IT, AND DON’T BE AFRAID,  to JUST DO IT, WITH FAITH in whatever and everything I choose to do.

خُذْهَا وَلَا تَخَفْ

4 Responses to “Grab it, and don’t be afraid! خُذْهَا وَلَا تَخَفْ”


  1. 1 rukhparmor
    October 27, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    Inspiring=D Thanks for sharing!

  2. December 3, 2011 at 2:23 am

    very informative /
    keep sharing Meena. it seems that I ‘m travelling with you in your dream.

  3. April 23, 2012 at 7:54 am

    Great post Meena- I love how the story of Musa AS grabs every one who reads it in a different way. SubhanAllah


Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives


